Choosing to use the first headline that you write could actually be costing you readership

PILF Ice Cream Party
Image by lawtonchiles via Flickr

Here’s a simple copywriting tip for you.

When it comes to writing your headlines…never go with your first headline that you write.

No matter how good you think in sounds, or how well you think it might work.

You can always improve on it.

What I’ve found to work for me is to simply write out 25, 50 or even 100 headlines and then I simply stop and do something else that doesn’t require the same type of thinking skills that writing a headline requires.

I’ll do that for a couple of hours or I might just forget about the headline all together and come back to it another day.

As much as I hate having to start and do something else when I could be working on copy…this way seems to work best.

You can try it and see for yourself.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses

  1. I’m not sure that I would write out 25 to 100 headlines personally, but do believe everyone has their own method to madness.

    I do agree that writing numerous headlines is a great idea. Usually, I’ll write my piece, then when it is done go back and try out 4 or 5 headlines for it, before settling on one.

    Also, I think one of the best pieces of advice I read was to write your headline as if it were a telegraph message. Clever kills.

  2. Hey Michael,

    Your right, the 25 to 100 headlines is my method to madness. I learned it a couple of years ago when I was stumped trying to find a winning headline for an exercise ad I was writing. I’d written 4 headlines and was trying to decide on which one to choose. So I started writing few more. Then I continued to write, and when I was finished – I’d written 45 different versions.

    Some were how to headlines, others were based on price, news, testimonials etc.

    I guess I was under the influence of John Caples and Ben Franklin. lol

    They both believed in testing quite a lot.

    Also, would you like to see some of your articles appear on this blog?

    If so, then shoot me a message letting me know.

Leave a Reply

