A lesson in grabbing your prospects attention

“Master copywriter who can’t see or no longer has the use of his hands creates an advertising campaign that sold over 1 million – 65 pg self help books in under 60 days – find out his 1, 2, 3 formula for creating success.”

Is that headline real or false?

If you guessed false, then you’re correct.

However, I wrote it to prove a point.

And that point is…you will never get anyone to buy your product or service you’re offering if you don’t first grab their attention.

As Eugene Schwartz would often say, “Your headline does not need to sell at all, your headline has only one job – to stop your prospect and compel him to read the second sentence of your ad.”

That’s a powerful statement.

So powerful in fact, I’ve decided to put together a two part series about grabbing your markets attention.

This 2 part series will cover one of copywritings most mis-understood emotional tools.

Good old curiosity.

Stay tuned…..

2 Responses

  1. You’re going to kick yourself…

    Thanks for so many useful tips. I’m new to Twitter and plan to follow you. I am also a copywriter, editor and proofreader.
    As a fellow wordsmith, I’m sure you will appreciate this…I have to point out an error in this entry! Your line says, “If you guessed false than you’re correct.”

    I’ll bet by now you’ve spotted it – THAN instead of THEN!

    Obviously, one would make a guess, and THEN find out whether or not they are correct. So, the sentence should read, “If you guessed false, then you’re correct.”

    I laugh at myself when I make errors like this and I’ll bet you’re laughing now! Aren’t words fun? I love them!
    Wendy

  2. Hey, thanks Wendy for pointing that out.

    I’ve since made the correct adjustment to the sentence.

Leave a Reply

